Court stops removal of Ekeza Sacco Committee members from office


Court has temporarily stopped the removal of Ekeza Sacco Committee members from office.

Senior Resident Magistrate Maryanne Murage restrained Commissioner of Co-operative Development from removing from office the management committee of Ekeza Savings and credit corporative Limited pending inter partes hearing of the suit.

“In the interim pending inter-partes hearing of this application, the defendant (Commissioner of Co-operative Development), by herself or agents is hereby restrained from removing from office the management of Ekeza Sacco,” ruled Murage.

The commissioner has also been retrained from installing a new management committee of Ekeza.

The orders were issued after eleven Ezeka Sacco members filled a petition to stop the commissioner from interfering with its management.

Through Lawyers Dunstan Omari and James Mamboleo, the Sacco officials claim the management of Ekeza is about to be overthrown by the Commissioner of Co-operatives Development thus leaving its affairs open to loss.

The applicant avers that the Commissioner had on 19th December 2018 through an inquiry order appointed officers to conduct an inquiry into Ekeza Sacco’s affairs, the inquiry report was to be presented at the Special General Meeting.

Hiwever, the said Inquiry Report was not tabled at the special general meeting and instead the commissioner used the occasion to institute dramatic regime change.

The Sacco Committee comprises of eight members who are the Chairman David Kariuki Ngari alias Gakuyo, Vice Chair James Kimani, secretary Anne Mbombua, treasurer Mark Nyaga, Supervisory committees members Samwel Mwaura, Grace Wanjiru and Joseph Gathege, member Lydia Nyaguthii.