Court reinstates 4 Jubilee MPs to parliamentary departmental committees


High court has temporarily reinstated four National Assembly leaders to their various committees after discharge by majority Chief whip Benjamin Washiali.

Alfred Kiptoo Meter (Nandi Hills), Silas Tiren Kipkoech (Moiben constituency), David Kangango (Marakwet East) and and James Gakuya( Embakasi North) moved to court seeking to quash the decision by Washiali to discharge them from bring members of various committees in the National Assembly.
The Jubilee members allege that they were discharged for vying for the positions against the party’s wishes.
The four were also seeking an order prohibiting Majority Leader Aden Duale from implementing washiali’s decision.
The legislators are members of the labour and social welfare department, agriculture and livestock department, environment and natural resources department and the parliamentary broadcasting and library committee within the National Assembly.
They are also seeking a declaration that their fundamental rights and freedom to engage in political activities, fair administrative action and right to be accorded a fair hearing were violated.
The MP’s argue that no valid reasons have been provided for the purported discharge contrary to the rules of natural justice as it has not been alleged or proven that the four behaved in a manner that is inconsistent with the policies of the party by contesting for the positions.
They further argue that they were duly elected as members of the National Assembly on August 8th on a jubilee ticket, consequent to which they became members of the departmental committee.
They say that Jubilee Disciplinary mechanisms were never instigated so as to dewhip them from their various committees.
In his affidavit, Keter says that the President and his Deputy are not members of the departmental committee and as such, their opinions would not matter over and above the decision of the members of the respective committees.
The matter will be heard on January 24th 2018