PNU primary nomination results nullified in Embu County, repeat in 48 hours

Lawyer Apollo Muinde during the hearing of the petition against PNU

Political parties’ dispute resolution tribunal has nullified PNU primary nomination results in Embu County and ordered a repeat in 48 hours.

While delivering the ruling on behalf of the three member tribunal, the chair Kyalo Mbobu said that the nomination process was shambolic and full of irregularities.

Mr Mbobu said that the party failed to follow its nomination rules during the primaries held late last month.

Last week the tribunal had issued temporary orders stopping PNU from issuing certificates to the primaries nominees for various seats in Embu County until the hearing and determination of the complaint.

The petition which was filed by four PNU members from Embu County wanted the primaries in the county declared null and void as the nomination exercise was a sham.

Lawyer Apollo Muinde for the four applicants told the tribunal that the nomination exercise was tainted with violence, bribery and open campaigns during the nomination.

Muinde told the tribunal that the presiding officers arrived the polling stations after 5pm and thousands and thousands of voters who were at the stations since morning were turned away without exercising their democratic rights of electing candidates if their choice.

He added that some of the names for various MCA aspirants in the area were missing from the ballot papers despite them having paid the necessary fees.

The four members Denis Mugendi, Jeremiah Mugambi Njagi, Patrick Mucira Wilson and Simon Njue Gitegua were are MCA aspirants for different wards in Embu County.

Earlier an attempt by PNU to have the matter struck out for none compliance with PNU Constitution on dispute resolution was dismissed as the party failed to observe its internal dispute resolution mechanism.

The tribunal agreed with Mr Muinde that the PNU did not follow the due process to resolve the issue.

The tribunal was presided over by Kyalo Mbobu (chairman), James Atemi and Aldeline Mbithi.